Cookies. Biscuits. Call them what you will. I love them. All of them. I’m a sucker for the classics but I’m always up for baking up new kinds, because who knows when you’ll discover a new addiction! I’m craving something delicious and dainty to go with a lovely cup of tea. Passion fruit is the seasonal food of the week, so I’ve decided to make up a new cookie.

passion fruit ~ the fruit of the gods

I picked up 4 passion fruits for £2.75 but you can find them cheaper if you buy a bulk pack. A 250g block of butter is about £1, and the rest of the ingredients I had on hand. But for budget’s sake, I figured the cost of the amount of flour used costs 13p; icing sugar is 15p; caster sugar is 15p; 1 egg is 25p; vanilla* is 5p.

Behold, Passion Fruit Angel Cookies.

passion fruit angel cookies ~ for the gods

For the cookies…

Cream until light:
1 c. unsalted butter // 225g
1/2 c. icing sugar // 60g
1 tsp. vanilla*

Sift and stir in:
2 c. all-purpose flour // 250g
1/2 tsp. salt

Cover dough and refrigerate 1 hour.

Preheat oven 200°C// 400°F. Flatten teaspoon-sized balls of dough into 2″ rounds on cookie sheet with a little breathing room so they won’t touch.

Bake for 5 to 6 mins, until golden on the edges. Cool on wire rack.

For the filling…

Combine in heat-proof glass bowl:
1 egg, beaten
2/3 c. caster sugar // 150g
3 tbsp. passion fruit pulp, sieved // 45ml
1 1/2 tbsp. butter // 21g

While the dough is chilling, heat filling over boiling water and stir until thick**. Let cool completely, then sandwich cookies with the filling. Makes 24.

*A personal note on vanilla: Spend some extra money on this and get the good stuff. No artificial vanilla flavouring crap. You want the pure, real vanilla extract. How do you know you’ve got a good one? It’s like 100proof and there is a flammable warning on it.

**This might will take longer than you think. Whilst making the filling, I broke a sweat, burned my finger and got wildly impatient, so finished up thickening in the microwave, which I hate. It took about 30 mins on the double boil and another 3 in the microwave. IF you use the ‘wave, stop and stir often.

The final product is buttery and delicious. Jonny insisted that he’s off sweets this week, and then he ate two. I think next time I’d make these thumbprint cookies so the filling to cookie ratio is higher. And as planned, these go perfectly with a cuppa’.

Oh, and for the perfect cookies every time, take a look at this. It tells you exactly what each ingredient does to a cookie, and what to add or subtract if you want your cookies flatter, chewier, puffier, crispier, etc… Now I will know what happens when a baking disaster strikes!

Recipe adapted from Angel Whispers on AllRecipes.com

